Skip to content


Ita Buttrose


President 1993-1994
President 1993

Ita Buttrose is Chair of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC). The 2013 Australian of the Year, she has held executive and editing roles for major Australian media companies including Australian Consolidated Press (now Are Media), News Ltd and Fairfax and has run her own media company, Capricorn Publishing. She has served on the boards of Australian Consolidated Press, News Ltd., and Television & Telecasters Pty Ltd., (Network TEN). She has worked in print, radio and television and has written 11 books. She was inducted into the Australian Media Hall of Fame in 2017.

A founding member and former president of Chief Executive Women she is a committed community and welfare contributor and chaired Arthritis Australia 2003-06 and Alzheimer’s (now Dementia) Australia from 2011-14. She has been National Ambassador for Dementia Australia since 2014 and a member of the Sydney Symphony Council since 2010.

She chaired the National Advisory Committee on AIDS (NACAIDS) from 1984-88. Her committee spearheaded Australia’s national HIV/AIDS education program. She later chaired the AIDS Trust of Australia from 1990-94.

In 2014 Sydney’s Macquarie University conferred an Honorary Doctor of Letters on Ita in recognition of her contribution to the arts. In 2015, she was conferred an Honorary Doctor of Letters by the University of Wollongong for her contribution to mental health and ageing. In 2018 Ita was conferred Doctor of the University – Honorary Medicine Doctorate by University of New South Wales for eminent service to health and for being an inspirational role model for aspiring women in business and those wanting to make a difference in society.

In 2019, Ita was made a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for eminent service to the community through leadership in the media, the arts and the health sector, and as a role model. She was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in 1988 for her services to the community especially in the field of medical education and health care. She received an OBE for her services to journalism in 1979 and the Centenary Medal in 2003 for business leadership to Australian society.