Leaders Program Facilitators

CEW Members; Dagmar Schmidmaier AM, Lynette Mayne AM, Karen Penrose, Susan Horwitz, Dr Bronwyn Evans, Erica Smyth AC, Kathleen Bailey-Lord, and Ambassadors Darren McGowan and Barry Bloch.

Dagmar Schmidmaier AM BA (Syd) MLib (UNSW) Hon DLitt (UNSW) FALIA Co-Director Leaders Program

Dagmar has held senior executive roles in the university, government and private sectors including as State Librarian and CEO State Library NSW. Prior to her executive roles she was Senior Lecturer and Head of Department Library and Information Studies at KCAE, now UTS. She is former Chair CHeBA Advisory Committee, UNSW Medicine, former NED Alzheimers Australia NSW, former Chair War Widows Guild NSW and Former Chair Aurora Foundation. Dagmar is profiled in ‘A Fair Go, Portraits of the Australian Dream’ by Wendy McCarthy AO. (Focus Publishing, 1999) CEW member

Lynette Mayne AM Co-Director Leaders Program

An international Chair, Director, CEO and entrepreneur who has lived and worked internationally and in Australia where Lynette was a CEO at Lendlease. More recently Lynette has taken on the leadership role to establish the Regional B Team Australasia, a company co-founded and co-chaired by Richard Branson and Jochen Zeitz. Its philosophy, that one can have a very successful business and do the right thing by the people and planet, has been a fundamental belief held by Lynette. Lynette is also a NED on the Board of the Prime Ministers Australian Infrastructure Financing Facility for the Pacific. CEW member


Kathleen is an experienced company board director and strategic advisor, passionate about the opportunities presented by the digital age, the rise of the Asian region.  Having enjoyed an international executive career across multiple industries, Kathleen is currently a member of the AICD Victorian Council and the boards of QBE Insurance (ANZ), Melbourne Water Corporation, Bank of Queensland and Monash College. CEW member

CEW Leaders program national program executive Michelle Woolven

Karen Penrose FAICD, CPA, B.Comm (UNSW)

Karen is a full time professional Non-Executive Director, currently serving on the ASXlisted boards of Bank of Queensland, Spark Infrastructure Group, Vicinity Centres and Estia Health. She has more than 30 years’ business experience in senior executive and Chief Financial Officer roles across finance, property and resources industries.CEW member

CEW Leaders program national program executive Michelle Woolven

Michelle Woolven, Director, Leaders Program Australia and Singapore

Michelle has over 20 years of national and international retail experience as senior buyer for an interior design business. Immediately prior to her current role Michelle coordinated all logistics for the Aurora Foundation Leadership Institute.


For further information on the CEW Leaders Program please head to our enquiry page here.