Skip to content

2022 Australia Day Honours list

2022 Australia Day Honours list

Chief Executive Women extends its congratulations to the nine CEW members recognised for their outstanding contribution to community in the 2022 Australia Day Honours list.

The accomplished senior women leaders and CEW members recognised in the 2022 Honours are:

  • Dr Helen Nugent AC
    For eminent service to people with disability through leadership of social and economic policy reform and implementation, to business, to the arts, and to the community.
  • Dr Jane Wilson AO
    For distinguished service to business, to government, to health and aged care, and to education.
  • Susan Boyd AM
    For significant service to international relations, to tertiary education, and to women’s affairs.
  • Melanie Brock AM
    For significant service to Australia-Japan relations.
  • Susan Horwitz AM
    For significant service to the community, and to sport.
  • Alison Watkins AM
    For significant service to business through leadership roles with a range of organisations.
  • Rachel Argaman OAM
    For service to the tourism and hospitality industry.
  • Major General Susan Coyle AM CSC DSM 
    For exceptional performance of duty as the Commander Joint Task Force 633 on Operation ACCORDION from January to November 2020.
  • Carmel Donnelly PSM
    Public Service Medal
    For outstanding public service to regulatory reforms in New South Wales.

Two women leaders from CEW Connect were also received awards:

CEW Scholar

  • Katherine Innes APM
    Australian Police Medal

CEW Leaders Program Graduate (2008)

  • Brigadier Nicole Longley AM
    For exceptional service as Director Logistics – Army, Director General Supply Chain Branch and Deputy Head of Joint Support Services Division.

Chief Executive Women CEO Susan Metcalf said: “Congratulations to the CEW members recognised in the 2022 Australia Day Honours. This year’s recipients recognise accomplished women leaders making important contributions to the community through diverse sectors around the country.

It is fantastic to see a celebration of women leaders playing a vital role in strengthening communities during a challenging time, while inspiring the next generation of women leaders,

Ms. Metcalf said.

CEW is pleased to see the highest ever percentage of women recognised in the Australia Day Honours and looks forward to seeing this positive momentum and recognition of outstanding women in Australia continue.

CEW recognises the many women who make significant contributions to our community and economy and extends congratulations to the remarkable people recognised in this year’s Australia Day Honours List.



CEW’s community of women leaders has grown to close to 1,300, with the addition of 209 talented following the latest nomination period. These women come from a diverse range of sectors: from arts and culture to aviation, financial services to engineering. They are all leaders in their fields who bring with them tremendous influence, expertise...
CEW Annual Dinner: Speech by Natasha Stott Despoja AO Good evening, everyone. I begin by acknowledging the traditional owners the Gadigal pe­­­ople of the Eora Nation. I pay my respects to their elders past and present and emerging, and to any other elders from other communities who may be present or listening today. The Gadigal People...
Chief Executive Women congratulates the 13 CEW members and scholars recognised in this week’s 2023 Honours. This year’s recipients are a great example of the reach, impact, and scale of the contribution CEW’s network of women leaders makes to the Australian community. The were recognised for their work in health, business, the arts, medical research,...
CEW welcomes another 162 members, increasing our membership base to nearly 1100 talented women leaders. Our growing membership reflects the breadth of talented women in leadership roles in a range of sectors including: not-for-profit, sport, health, academia, government and business across Australia. The contributions of our members play an important role in helping to drive...
In 2021-22 CEW was an influential voice for women, and women in leadership. Despite the impact of the pandemic (or perhaps because of its impact on women), CEW made significant progress towards delivering our vision – an Australia where women and men have equal economic and social choices and responsibilities. Our 2025 Strategy has informed...
The Chief Executive Women Leadership Summit, hosted on Tuesday, 6 September 2022, brought leaders together for an uncensored conversation about what can be done to break through the malaise and achieve gender equality for the benefit of all in Australia. In a day of inspiring discussion and keynote speeches, attendees were left empowered to drive...
Chief Executive Women (CEW) is pleased to announce that Susan Lloyd-Hurwitz has been appointed President of Chief Executive Women. The appointment was confirmed by the CEW Board at the CEW Annual General Meeting on Tuesday 15 November. Susan Lloyd-Hurwitz, who is CEW’s 19th President, brings significant experience, most recently as CEO & Managing Director of...
21 July 2022, 12AM: The three people tasked with leading scientific efforts for defence in the UK, US and Australia will meet in Sydney today, to discuss how to improve women’s representation in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) leadership roles: Australia’s Chief Defence Scientist Professor Tanya Monro AC, US Under Secretary of Defense for...
Chief Executive Women (CEW) is delighted to welcome 117 new members today, bolstering the membership rank to almost 1,000 women leaders. The growth in membership reflects the breadth of talented women in leadership roles in Australia and overseas. New members include senior executive women representing business, government, and not-for-profit sectors. Notably, in this year’s intake...
Chief Executive Women congratulates CEW members recognised in the 2022 Queen’s Birthday Honours List: Professor Tanya Monro AC for eminent service to scientific and technological development, to research and innovation. Elizabeth Koff AM for significant service to public health administration and governance. Miriam Silva AM for significant service to the multicultural community of South Australia,...