Skip to content

2021 CEW Scholarships – diversity amongst our recipients

2021 CEW Scholarships – diversity amongst our recipients
Chief Executive Women (CEW) has awarded the first round of 2021 CEW Scholarships to women from a wide range of industries and sectors. CEW continues to expand our scholarship program to cater for greater diversity and each winner has nominated a scholarship that best suits their needs and aspirations. We look forward to welcoming the scholarship recipients to the CEW alumni and to their future endeavours which will be shaped and supported by these educational opportunities.

The flexibility of the 2021 CEW Scholarships attracted many strong applications and CEW is delighted to offer congratulations to the following women:

Entrepreneur Scholarship

  • Melissa Reader, CEO, The Violet Initiative, will undertake the INSEAD AVIRA Program

Executive Manager Scholarship

Three recipients will complete the Executive Development Program at The Wharton School

  • Michelle Lynch, Chief Operating Officer, Ramsay Pharmacy Group. Michelle is also a Director and National Vice-President of The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA).
  • Caroline Patrick, Director of Brand and Member, Super SA. Caroline has held senior and executive positions in banking, wealth management, credit finance, health insurance and superannuation.
  • Alison Price, Founder and Managing Director, Former Director and Vice Chair of the National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) and Board Member for the Waste Recycling Industry Association of Queensland (WRIQ).

Not-for-Profit Scholarship

STEM Scholarship

  • Dr Rowan Brookes, Academic Program Director (STEM), Melbourne School for Professional and Continuing Education, will complete the Vincent Fairfax Fellowship for Ethical Leadershipoffered by Cranlana Centre for Ethical Leadership.
  • Sarah McSwiney, Senior Manager, Strategy and Operations, Office of the Chief Engineer, Boeing Defence Australia, will undertake Strategy and Innovation Executive Certificate at MIT Sloan School of Management.
  • Dr Hema Wadhwa, Remote Monitoring and Digital Engineering Solutions Manager ANZ, Worley will study online the Graduate Certificate in Business through The University of Melbourne.

Small Business

  • Esmee Ng, Chief Executive Officer, Health Empower Australia will undertake the Diploma of Positive Psychology and Wellbeing  offered through The Langley Group Institute.

Government Scholarship

  • Commodore Fiona Sneath, RAN, Deputy Inspector-General of the Australian Defence Force, will undertake the Vincent Fairfax Fellowship – Cranlana Centre for Ethical Leadership

CEW Scholarships will be launched again in November 2022 and will again offer multiple scholarships for women leaders between $5,000 and $35,000. Applications will open for women working across diverse sectors including sustainability, nursing, entrepreneurs, government, not-for-profit, STEM and advertising, media and television.

Read more on these women and all the 2021 CEW Scholarship recipients.



Congratulations to our final scholarship winners of 2022, Newland Global Group’s Natasha Jha Bhaskar and Paralympics Australia’s Catherine Clark, recipients of the CEW Governance Institute of Australia scholarship. Natasha is the Executive Director at Newland Global Group, a leading corporate advisory firm with a focus on Australia-India trade and investment relations. Named one of Australia’s...
CEW is pleased to announce the return of the INSEAD Advanced Management Program Scholarship, which is be offered as part of our Scholarships Program in 2023. One senior woman leader will win this life changing opportunity to take her career to the highest level. The INSEAD Advanced Management Program is designed to help leaders build...
Chief Executive Women (CEW) is launching a new scholarship for women leaders in any industry, designed to support the governance skills of emerging leaders and encourage further career progression. The Governance Institute of Australia CEW Scholarship is open to mid-senior executives in any industry who have at least five years’ experience managing teams of five or more people. It will...
Women’s progress into leadership has stalled in Australia, according to 2022 Senior Executive Census. At the current rate, it will take 100 years for women to make up at least 40% of all CEO positions on the ASX200. The Census outlines important actions for business, investors, and government to help accelerate change. We are acting...
CEW congratulates Lauren Joyce and Kate O’Connor, who have been awarded the 2022 Maureen Kerridge AM Scholarship. Two inspirational leaders in the media industry, both Lauren and Kate now have the opportunity to study executive courses at Harvard and Stanford to further advance their careers. The Maureen Kerridge AM Scholarship is for mid-to-senior women leaders...
The care sector is the backbone of communities around the country, especially over the past two years. Supporting women in leadership in care sectors is more important than ever. Chief Executive Women (CEW) would like to congratulate Amanda Christie, the 2022 Bonnie Boezeman AO Leadership in Nursing scholar. This scholarship is made possible with thanks...
Chief Executive Women (CEW) is calling on women who lead in the arts community to apply for two new CEW scholarships designed to support more women to fast track their leadership roles in the sector. The Hansen Executive Leader CEW Scholarship and the Hansen CEW Leaders Program for the Arts Scholarships have been created by...
This NAIDOC Week, we are delighted to announce four new recipients of the CEW and Roberta Sykes Indigenous Education Foundation Scholarships for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women leaders in Australia. The recipients of this years’ scholarships are women leaders in organisations with the ability to create significant social impact. They will study at Harvard...
Chief Executive Women (CEW) is pleased to announce Amelia Fyfield as the inaugural Australian  recipient of the Australian/Indonesia International Trade and Investment Scholarship. Amelia has extensive experience in trade development and market access roles and was Head of Beanstalk AgTech in Australia and New Zealand. She is currently CSIRO’s ASEAN Counsellor, working to build and maintain...
Chief Executive Women and the Kerridge family are inviting applications for the Maureen Kerridge AM Scholarship for women leaders in media and advertising. The scholarship will contribute up to $35,000 fund study at a relevant course anywhere in the world. It was established in memory of Maureen Kerridge AM and her achievements as a pioneering...