Hansen CEW Leaders Program for the Arts Scholarship

Closed for 2024


CEW's Leaders Program

Course type

Short course (6 non-consecutive days)



Open to

Senior women leaders in the Arts


Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, or Brisbane

Partnered with

Jane Hansen AO

In partnership with CEW member Jane Hansen AO, we are offering five women working in the Arts an incredible opportunity to participate in the CEW Leaders Program, a bespoke leadership program developed to inspire and equip women to fulfil their leadership potential.

This Scholarship is open to mid to senior level women who have held leadership roles in the Arts for at least three years. Applications will be open to candidates nationally and five scholarships will be awarded each year.

Who should apply?

To be eligible to apply, you must meet the minimum selection criteria:
Mid to senior executives (i.e., CEO, or no more than four levels down from CEO) working in the Arts sector.
7+ years professional experience with 5 or more years management experience (i.e. business unit, line or functional management such as P&L management, strategic planning and people management of a team of any size).
Australian citizen or permanent resident.
Inclusions and Obligations
The scholarship covers course fees.
The successful candidate must commit to attend all six days of the CEW Leaders Program and complete the program within 12 months.
The successful candidate will be required to write a report about their scholarship experience and may be asked to speak at CEW events
On completion of the course, the recipient will become a member of the CEW alumni community, CEW Connect Women.

“I recognise that to lead in this space and effectively manage diverse perspectives, I need to continue to develop my own inclusive leadership skills.”

Petra Kalive
Associate Director, Melbourne Theatre Company. 2023 Scholar

“This scholarship is immensely valuable for my growth as a leader. It will provide me with an extraordinary opportunity to enhance my leadership abilities and engage with a community of female leaders from diverse industries.”

Emily Copeland
Director, Audience Innovation & Music Partnerships, ARN. 2023 Scholar

“I am looking forward to being stretched and challenged by the course content, and I’m supremely excited to be joining a cohort of smart and aspirational women, to learning alongside and from them and to building a network of peers who may be a source of counsel, support and friendship.”

Anne Frankenberg
Deputy CEO, Musica Viva. 2022 Scholar

Jane Hansen AO

Jane Hansen AO is the 23rd Chancellor of the University of Melbourne appointed on 1 January 2023. She was initially appointed to the University of Melbourne Council on 1 January 2016 and elected Deputy Chancellor on 12 December 2017.

She is currently CEO and the Chair of the Hansen Little Foundation, Chair of the University of Melbourne Campaign Advisory Board, member of the advisory board for the Melbourne Humanities Foundation and board member of Opera Australia and The Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation, the largest public foundation in Australia.

Jane was formerly a mergers and acquisitions and corporate finance specialist at Macquarie Bank and First Boston/Credit Suisse and has more than 25 years of investment banking and management experience in the UK, USA and Australia. Jane is immediate past Chair of Melbourne Theatre Company and her previous directorships include the MCG Trust, the State Sport Centres Trust, the federal body of Athletics Australia and the Foundation of the State Library of Victoria.

Jane is a Fellow of the University of Melbourne, has a Bachelor of Economics from Monash University, a Bachelor of Arts (History) from the University of Melbourne and a Master’s Degree in Finance and Business Administration from Columbia University, New York. She is a Member of Chief Executive Women and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

In January 2020, Jane was awarded an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to the community, to education and cultural institutions, and through philanthropic support for charitable foundations.