Celebrating three remarkable CEW scholarship benefactors

Scholarships play a fundamental role in CEW’s efforts to create opportunities that level the playing field for women across the country. 

Today, as three of our 2024 scholarships are officially opened to applicants, we celebrate the invaluable contributions of three remarkable benefactors whose commitment to gender equality shines through their support for scholarships. 

Through their generosity and foresight, these members have not only transformed the lives of recipients but have also paved the way for a more inclusive and equitable future. 

Bonnie Boezeman AO 
The Bonnie Boezeman AO Leadership in Nursing Scholarship 

“To make a difference, all it takes is one idea and one person who is willing to do something about it,” says Bonnie Boezeman AO, the benefactor of CEW’s Leadership in Nursing Scholarship. 

Bonnie built her career over 35 years with publishing giant Time Warner and Time Life Australia, becoming a company director and serving on many boards, including as Chair of PayPal Australia for six years. 

Highly proactive in the philanthropic and sporting spaces, Bonnie has been awarded an Officer of the Order of Australia, the Centenary Medal, and in 2009 was Knighted by Pope Benedict XVI, for contributions to the Catholic Church and World Youth Day. 

Looking to improve working conditions for healthcare workers, Bonnie created the Nursing in Leadership scholarship to empower women to be the leaders they wished to see in their industry and help them into roles at decision-making tables to drive progress for all workers. 

Maureen Kerridge AM 
Maureen Kerridge Scholarship 

Media industry trailblazer Maureen Kerridge AM sadly passed away in 2020, and in celebration and in memory of her incredible life, the Kerridge family have generously donated a scholarship for emerging leaders in advertising, media, and television. 

The first woman to run an Australian television network, Seven, and the first female CEO of a free-to-air television network globally, Maureen’s career also involved senior roles at Unilever and board roles for Opera Australia, Pacific Brands, Macquarie Radio Network, and the charity, Bestest. She was a council member of the National Museum of Australia, and a Trustee of the National Gallery of Victoria.  

Maureen was posthumously awarded an Order of Australia for her significant service to the television industry, the arts and charitable organisations. 

Jane Hansen AO 
Hansen Executive in the Arts Scholarship 
Hansen CEW Leaders Program for the Arts Scholarship 

Jane Hansen AO is the Chancellor of the University of Melbourne, and CEO and Chair of the Hansen Little Foundation with more than 25 years of experience in investment banking, strategy and management. 

Passionate about the arts, Jane is Chair of the Melbourne Theatre Company and serves on the boards of Opera Australia and the Humanities Foundation Advisory Board for the University of Melbourne. She was awarded an Officer of the Order of Australia for her distinguished service to the community, to education and cultural institutions, and through philanthropic support for charitable foundations in 2020. 

Looking to support the leadership ambitions of talented women making an impact in the Australian arts community, Jane became the benefactor of two CEW scholarships. In her own words, “Strong and effective leadership in the sector is so vital to its viability and sustainability — it is our culture and its voice at stake”. 

You can learn more about CEW’s scholarship program, including how to apply, here.