Skip to content

Meet the 2023 CEW Hansen Leaders Program for the Arts Scholars: a group as vibrant and varied as the Australian arts

Meet the 2023 CEW Hansen Leaders Program for the Arts Scholars: a group as vibrant and varied as the Australian arts

Theatre directors, music producers and brand builders, curators and a philanthropic fundraiser are among the recipients of the 2023 Hansen CEW Leaders Program for the Arts Scholarship.

Made possible thanks to the generosity of Jane Hansen AO, these scholarships help women leaders looking to take on executive leadership roles within the Arts by supporting them to take part in the CEW Leaders Program.

The 2023 recipients are:

  • Petra Kalive, Freelance Theatre Director
  • Emily Copeland, Director, Audience Innovation & Music Partnerships, ARN
  • Zulya Kamalova, Director, The Boite Vic
  • Katie Henebery, Executive Director, Spare Parts Puppet Theatre
  • Kelly McDonald, Assistant Gallery Director/ Senior Curator, Mosman Art Gallery
  • Fabienne Cooke, Head of Philanthropy, Brisbane Festival

Petra has extensive experience as a director, writer and dramaturg and is excited about getting the opportunity to reflect on her own leadership style and how it relates to the current cultural moment.

“We are living through a time of cultural evolution and I want to be a leader empowering previously structurally disempowered people to achieve success in their work,” she says.

“I recognise to lead in this space and effectively manage diverse perspectives, I need to continue to develop my own inclusive leadership skills.”

Emily is currently responsible for uncovering opportunities for audience and brand growth at ARN and can’t wait to meet her Leaders Program peers.

“There are many remarkable female leaders in the Australian Arts industry, and I feel privileged to have been offered a place,” she says.

“It will provide me with an extraordinary opportunity to enhance my leadership abilities, and engage with a community of female leaders from diverse industries.”

Zulya is an ARIA award winning artist, producer and communicator. She says this scholarship is an affirmation of her passion and commitment to the arts.

“I feel both excited and humbled to be recognised among a group of talented and dedicated women leaders,” she says.

“I feel excitement and responsibility, knowing that I have the backing and support of a community that values and recognises the importance of diversity in the arts.”

Katie is a passionate arts professional and leads a small, dedicated team at Spare Parts Puppet Theatre.

“The program provides the perfect opportunity to interrogate my personal leadership style, grow confidence and bring valuable learnings back to my organisation,” she says.

“I am excited to be a part of the CEW Connect community and learn more about how I can contribute more to addressing the challenges of women working in the arts, and support the careers of my colleagues.”

Kelly, who has almost two decades experience in art galleries, views the Leaders Program as an opportunity to develop her leadership skills so she can continue to guide and support her colleagues.

“I am overwhelmed at the generosity of Jane Hansen AO and the Hansen Little Foundation,” she says.

“I am keen to develop a network of peers so that we can share skills and support one another through our leadership roles across a variety of industries.”

Fabienne draws on more than 25 years’ experience as she guides strategic investment at Brisbane Festival. She says the Leaders Program provides a rare chance for women leaders to think, plan, strategise, learn and dream.

“My ambition is to meaningfully contribute to the nexus between culture and sport as we approach Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games.”  

Find out more about our Scholarships program here


The winners of the CEW and ANZ Sustainability Scholarship are working to address some of our planet’s most pressing challenges in radically different ways. They are: Brickworks General Manager Operations Emily Antonio I’m Plastic Free Founder Simona Paganetto Coates National Environment and Sustainability Manager Robyn Simpson While their expertise and experience different greatly, they are...
Today we released our seventh annual Chief Executive Women Senior Executive Census which tracks the annual progress of women’s representation in the senior leadership teams of Australia’s top companies. Latest data shows that women remain undeniably underrepresented in leadership teams across Australia’s top businesses and gender parity at the top is still at least half...
This year’s recipient of the ARA Women Leaders in Retail Scholarship Coles Group General Manager, Non-Food Business Unit Debra Galle, prioritises values and behaviours to build supportive, transparent and team-based cultures. Debra is passionate about fast-moving consumer goods (FMCG) retail, a segment that has faced rapidly changing and difficult circumstances due to the COVID-19 pandemic....
The winner of this year’s CEW Chemistry Australia Scholarship is Orica manager of manufacturing technology Kira McGrath. McGrath has extensive experience with ammonia, nitric acid and ammonium nitrate manufacturing processes specific to Orica’s Kooragang Island manufacturing facility, in Newcastle New South Wales. The facility supplies critical products to the mining and infrastructure, agriculture, water supply,...
CEW’s community of women leaders has grown to close to 1,300, with the addition of 209 talented following the latest nomination period. These women come from a diverse range of sectors: from arts and culture to aviation, financial services to engineering. They are all leaders in their fields who bring with them tremendous influence, expertise...
We are delighted to collaborate with Melbourne Business School (MBS)and the Helen Macpherson Smith Trust (HMST) to offer emerging women leaders in Victoria’s not-for-profit and for-purpose sectors the opportunity to complete an Executive MBA. HMST is an independent philanthropic trust established by Helen Macpherson Schutt (née Smith) in 1951 with the aim of benefiting future...
CEW is delighted to announce the recipient of this year’s prestigious Maureen Kerridge CEW Scholarship – Libby Owens, the CEO of Champion Data. With an impressive 20 years of experience in the sports media industry, Libby has made significant contributions to the field and broken barriers throughout her career. Libby’s journey in the sports media...
CEW is thrilled to announce international powerhouse in economics, gender equality and the future of work Saadia Zahidi will be keynote speaker at this year’s CEW Leadership Summit. As Managing Director, World Economic Forum, Centre for the New Economy and Society in Switzerland, Saadia’s teams work with leaders from business, government, civil society and academia...
In an era defined by groundbreaking technological advancements, the CEW-Actuaries Institute Harvard Scholarship emerges as a beacon of empowerment for women seeking to make their mark in the dynamic fields of data science and artificial intelligence (AI). Would you have guessed that first sentence was written by ChatGPT, an AI-powered language model developed by OpenAI?...
Chief Executive Women (CEW) has today released a report calling on corporate Australia to amplify the conversation about gender and race as a crucial step in harnessing the full potential of women in leadership for the economic benefit of all. The Unlocking Leadership: Conversations on Gender and Race in Corporate Australia report explores the experiences...