Skip to content

Chief Executive Women announces 2020 scholarship winners: Rachael Kay and Liz Westcott for MIT Sloan

Chief Executive Women announces 2020 scholarship winners: Rachael Kay and Liz Westcott for MIT Sloan

Chief Executive Women is pleased to announce Rachael Kay, Central Adelaide Local Health Network and Liz Westcott, EnergyAustralia have won a CEW scholarship to study the art and science of leading during times of change. Rachael and Liz will attend the Leading Change in Complex Organisations program at MIT Sloan, one of the world’s leading business schools.

If ever there was a time to support women leaders who are navigating their organisations through turbulence – it is now.

Deidre Willmott

CEW Scholarships Committee Acting Chair

“Both winners are leaders in complex and changing environments. In Rachael’s case, the challenge is acute as the COVID-19 pandemic has required health services to adapt to new ways of working and service delivery. For Liz, it is about helping a major energy retailer transition to cleaner energy.

“These scholarships will help Rachael and Liz take their change leadership skills to the next level and rise to the challenges ahead.

“We know that diverse leadership delivers better decisions and more equitable outcomes for Australia, which the country needs now more than ever,” says Deidre.

The Winners

Rachael Kay is Executive Director Capital Projects and Planning at Central Adelaide Local Health Network (CALHN), an incorporated health network serving a community of more than 466,000 people.

Rachael leads a team that manages major capital projects, currently valued at more than $350 million, and service planning across the organisation of over 11,000 employees.

“On top of the current COVID-19 pandemic, CALHN is in the middle of one of the most significant reforms the country has seen in healthcare.

“The course at MIT will help me apply learnings from the best examples of change leadership from around the world.

“I want to lead hearts and minds while executing the right business decisions for our organisation in the short and long term,” says Rachael.

Liz Westcott is the Executive – Energy at EnergyAustralia, one of the country’s leading energy retailers with around 1.7 million electricity and gas customers.

Liz is responsible for the operation and development of the company’s generation portfolio, comprising around 5,000 MW of owned and contracted wind, solar, coal and gas power.

“Our opportunity is to remake the energy system so it provides not only reliable, affordable and cleaner power, but choice and control for people as well. It is an enormous and exciting change project with thousands of moving parts. I’m looking forward to applying the insights and perspectives gained from the MIT program” says Liz.

Read Media Release here.

Read more about our winners.

The Scholarship

The scholarships to MIT are part of the 2020 CEW Scholarships Program, which provides talented Australian women with the opportunity to take their careers to the next level by supporting executive education at internationally acclaimed business schools.

Rachael and Liz will attend the Leading Change in Complex Organisations program at MIT Sloan in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The program helps executives harness the leadership skills, political resources, and cultural understandings needed to guide successful organisational change. Participants learn advanced leadership skills through classroom conversations, exercises, group work, case studies and a software-based business simulation.




Scholarships play a fundamental role in CEW’s efforts to create opportunities that level the playing field for women across the country.  Today, as three of our 2024 scholarships are officially opened to applicants, we celebrate the invaluable contributions of three remarkable benefactors whose commitment to gender equality shines through their support for scholarships.  Through their...
The CEW Scholarships Program lies at the heart of women leaders enabling women leaders and 2023 has seen us reach new heights awarding scholarships to 34 outstanding women leaders across 19 different scholarships. We have been very excited to offer four new scholarships in partnership with Chemistry Australia, Actuaries Institute, Property Council of Australia, Melbourne...
In the world of data science, where innovation and leadership play a pivotal role, women have been steadily breaking barriers and shattering glass ceilings. Their contributions are invaluable, yet there is still a gender gap to overcome. The inaugural CEW Actuaries Women Leader in Data Science scholarship winner, Lisa Green, is a prime example of...
Keren Paterson is a 2023 CEW scholar and attended INSEAD’s Advanced Management Program in France this year. Read about her amazing experience below: Some of the most inspirational business leaders that have influenced my career are graduates of the INSEAD Advanced Management Program (AMP). They have led very different businesses, but they share an incredible...
The winners of the CEW and ANZ Sustainability Scholarship are working to address some of our planet’s most pressing challenges in radically different ways. They are: Brickworks General Manager Operations Emily Antonio I’m Plastic Free Founder Simona Paganetto Coates National Environment and Sustainability Manager Robyn Simpson While their expertise and experience different greatly, they are...
This year’s recipient of the ARA Women Leaders in Retail Scholarship Coles Group General Manager, Non-Food Business Unit Debra Galle, prioritises values and behaviours to build supportive, transparent and team-based cultures. Debra is passionate about fast-moving consumer goods (FMCG) retail, a segment that has faced rapidly changing and difficult circumstances due to the COVID-19 pandemic....
Theatre directors, music producers and brand builders, curators and a philanthropic fundraiser are among the recipients of the 2023 Hansen CEW Leaders Program for the Arts Scholarship. Made possible thanks to the generosity of Jane Hansen AO, these scholarships help women leaders looking to take on executive leadership roles within the Arts by supporting them...
The winner of this year’s CEW Chemistry Australia Scholarship is Orica manager of manufacturing technology Kira McGrath. McGrath has extensive experience with ammonia, nitric acid and ammonium nitrate manufacturing processes specific to Orica’s Kooragang Island manufacturing facility, in Newcastle New South Wales. The facility supplies critical products to the mining and infrastructure, agriculture, water supply,...
We are delighted to collaborate with Melbourne Business School (MBS)and the Helen Macpherson Smith Trust (HMST) to offer emerging women leaders in Victoria’s not-for-profit and for-purpose sectors the opportunity to complete an Executive MBA. HMST is an independent philanthropic trust established by Helen Macpherson Schutt (née Smith) in 1951 with the aim of benefiting future...
CEW is delighted to announce the recipient of this year’s prestigious Maureen Kerridge CEW Scholarship – Libby Owens, the CEO of Champion Data. With an impressive 20 years of experience in the sports media industry, Libby has made significant contributions to the field and broken barriers throughout her career. Libby’s journey in the sports media...